Home > Personal, Random Thoughts, Toys, Transformers > Just Me Being A Geek

Just Me Being A Geek

February 23, 2008

OK, so my laptop finally crapped out on me the other day. It didn’t stop working all together, but for some reason my mouse pad and keyboard just decided that they no longer liked their stations in life and just weren’t going to participate anymore… go figure. *shrug* The easy work around was to snag the mouse and keyboard off of my home PC and hook them up to my laptop, but that’s more or less rendered my laptop “not so portable” anymore. I do a lot of my writing at work or on the road, so until I bite the bullet and find replacement parts or just go out and get a new laptop (I’m really pulling for the new laptop BTW), I really don’t have a convenient way to write right now… so my apologies for the lack of posts here lately.

So what’s been going on in my life here lately, other than a broken laptop? Oh where should I begin? Lets start with what’s new on the Transformers collecting scene, that always puts me in a good mood.

All the stuff from my “I sold my 25th Anniversary G.I. Joes Haul” came in, Devil Satan 6 is the awsum! He’s in better shape than he looked like in the pictures and that made me extremely happy. The TF Jr’s were indeed unopened, and I was indeed the first person to free them from their “Styrofoam Prisons”, and when I posted about it on TFW it sparked an offer from another collector for two of the six figures that form Raiden Jr. *SCORE* And the Collector’s Club Exclusives were everything I thought they would be, so all in all it was a great series of transactions; I made way more off of my Joe’s than I thought I would, and when it came time to spend it I got a lot of ridiculous deals on the stuff I wanted.

Here recently, I’ve stumbled into some great deals too. I snagged five of the six figures that form Piranacon from the original Generation 1 Transformers series for a fraction of what they were worth, due to the seller not knowing how to spell his name correctly. I’ve had the sixth figure needed to complete him laying around for a while now and never figured I’d be able to complete it because of his ridiculous price so I’m not complaining. On top of that I was able to work out a deal with another collector for a bunch of the parts I needed to complete my newly acquired Piranacon, along with parts for my G1 Metroplex and Trypticon, so now I just need to get the big gun for Pirranacon, and the smaller guns for Scamper and Full Tilt, and I’ll have all three figures 100% complete. If all goes well with this deal, I should be able to get most, if not all, of the parts I need to complete Scorponok from the same guy too… so n00b3rz eatz0r your heart out, lol. I’ve been wheeling and dealing so much here lately, I feel like a fucking Ferangi 🙂 , but so far 08 has been turning out to be a great year for collecting, at least for me anyways. Here’s to hoping it continues *cheers*

I’ve been trying my hand at photography here lately too, not so much like professional photography but more like product photography (?). I built a small light tent and have been taking pictures of some of my TFs to try and hone my skills. I’m having a little trouble with the white balance and getting my backgrounds to turn out completely white, they tend to have a slightly blue tint to them but I’m encouraged by the results so far. My wife’s been a major help, she the Photographer not me; I just take pictures, and yes there is a difference. Here’s a few I took with little or no Photoshoping, other then cropping the pictures down to size.

I’d really like to get good enough to submit some of my stuff to the TFW galleries, because I have quite a few figures that they are missing from there and they have been such a great help in collecting for me I’d like to give something back. Other than that I don’t really know what I would do with those said skills other than have really good looking images for anything I sell on eBay, lol. I guess I’ve always been like that; I just like to know how things work, see if I can do it, and then I lose interest in it. Kind of like, way back, when I only had a webTV and I decided to write my own IRC chat program for it completely in HTML. I worked day and night on it for about a month, and once I finished it, I never gave it a second thought. The key with that is that WebTV recognizes one HTML command that normal computers don’t: wtvchat or wtv.chat or something like that (It’s been a reeeeealy long time ago), but once I did it I quickly lost interest in it because there was no challenge left behind it other then coming up with snappy little saying to pop up when someone clicked the little button.

Anyways, I’ve rambled on long enough… Peace!

