Home > Hobbies > Random Thoughts of a Trans-Fan

Random Thoughts of a Trans-Fan

September 19, 2007

Hey guys, not much going on here lately. I have managed to finish organizing my Transformers on my new shelves… more or less. There is one shelf that’s just seems to be a “junk shelf” consisting of all of the stuff that I couldn’t find another place to display. All in all I think it looks OK. I did also manage to update my collection thread on TFW2005. So for all of you Transformers collectors out there, if you’re interested here’s a link with some more in depth pictures.

Oh yea in other Transformers news, I was also able to snag the last few Alternators that I needed to finish up the line. It’s the only line that I’ve even been slightly interested in being a “completest” with. I’m waiting on Rodimus, Swindle, and Swerve to arrive and then it’ll be all be done. *cross my fingers* This, for some reason, fills me with an overwhelming feeling of accomplishment, and for something that I normally don’t spend a lot of time telling others outside of the collector community about; I just want to tell everybody. Strange how that works I guess.

I totally got called out at Wal*Mart yesterday. I finally found a new movie figure, Payload by the way, and when I was walking up to the cashier to check out she gave me a sly little smile and asked “Is this for your collection?”

I was so taken off guard that all I could do was kind of smile an shyly agree. She then proceeds to tell me how her husband wanted to go see the new movie, but she wouldn’t let him because she thought it was too childish. What a cunt. Her husband begs and pleads with her to go, offering up argument like “I used to play with these when I was a kid” and she can’t even sacrifice an hour or so of her time to let him relive his childhood for a moment or two. I bet if it was a Barbie movie, she’d drag him along to go see it. Then she takes it upon herself to use this experience to try and belittle me… grrrr. That’s why she works at Wal*Mart, and her husband will end up cheating on her.

I’ve been thinking about trying my hand at an on line toy store here lately, I’ve sold a few items on eBay here over the last few weeks and have been pleasantly surprised at the results. I’m teetering on the edge of taking that plunge and actually investing in getting a business license and keeping a small inventory of figures on hand. Not as scalper, more along the lines of an importer or something. I Figured I could do that for a while, until I get enough money together to carry a full inventory that would warrant me getting a dot com type store. I dunno, maybe it’s just a pipe dream, but it would be nice to be able to make my hobby pay for itself instead of just sucking up all of my extra spending money. LOL

Anyways, I know I’m just kinda jumping all over the place today, but that’s the fun of a “random thoughts” entry I guess. Cheers all, and thanks for taking the time to look.

