Home > Hobbies > Coming Out Of The Closet

Coming Out Of The Closet

August 29, 2007

OK so here it is, for as much time as I spend being the “cool guy”, the guy that all the other guys want to be, staying up on all the newest music and in general being the life of the party… it’s time for me to come out of the closet: I’m a geek, I do geek things, I like geek stuff, and geek girls? Whoa-ho buddy! HTML is teh s3xy, and C++ “get out of the city” </Perfect Strangers>.

 

I say this because, this weekend I realized how big my “geek” is. Most people when asked about their weekends will fill you with tails of drinking, partying, loud music, and sexual prowess… Me? I do this for a living, so what consists of a good weekend (or day off of work as I work during most people’s weekends) for someone in the adult entertainment industry? I hit the net and try to complete my collection of Red Dwarf episodes. Star Trek? Got em! Babylon 5? Fugetabotit, been there done that. It’s obscure British space comedies for me, no doubt! 🙂

 

I don’t spend a whole lot of time “broadcasting” my geek, but this weekend it was “flaming”, there was just no hiding it. I might as well have had on taped glasses, a pocket protector, high-water pants, and been laughing through my nose like that Urkel kid from the 90’s.

 

So what gets me giddy as a school girl? What makes me grin from ear to ear? What gets me as excited as a fat kid in a candy factory? I got new shelves to display my Transformers collection on! That’s right I said Transformers! I collect little transforming robots, and not just a couple of em either. At last count I had over 300 actual “Transformers”, not counting the other toy lines I’ve started collecting like Go-Bots, Brave, and G.I. Joe. Oye

 

The best part, they were free! My aunt and uncle had a couple of display stands that they had gotten from a department store that had gone out of business more than a few years ago, and didn’t want them any more… I didn’t even have to ask for them, they called me, AND dropped them off too! They just gave me a fortune in tempered glass for free, I know because I’ve priced it before.

 

They were designed to set in the middle of an aisle and have shelves on both sides of them, but with a little ingenuity, a little time, and about $23… I ended up with some really nice display stands. Now lets see how long it takes me to fill em up!

 

Anyways, thank you Aunt Kathy, Uncle Gary, and especially Hills Dept. Store for going out of business all those years ago. 🙂 Peace and don’t be afraid to embrace your inner geek! Oh yea, here’s some pics!

 

*UNDER CONSTRUCTION*

 

 

 

 

 

ALL DONE!

 

 

A four year old for size referance. LOL

 

 

Lets decorate!

 

 

A work in progress.

 

 

 

  1. September 1, 2007 at 4:14 am

    Wow that setup is probably the most elegant I have ever seen. The tempered glass adds a touch of class to it. I know many Transformer collectors who have impressive collections but fail miserably to find a nice way to display them so stuff just ends up in tubs or worse, in piles on the floor. Congratulations on the setup, really. It’s an accomplishment.

  2. September 1, 2007 at 9:39 am

    Thanks man, that means a lot! I’m still working on getting everything organized and displayed nicley, but there’s a lot of potential there.

    Nice to see someone from my “Blogroll” found me too!

  3. paolo.
    September 15, 2007 at 11:47 am

    Great setup! Setting that up must’ve took hours (I should know, getting every figure posed, properly balanced and displayed kills an afternoon, let alone cleaning time!) — great work, and I have to say that’s a pretty impressive collection.

    Ahaha, btw, geek is sexy, hahaha!

  4. September 16, 2007 at 11:08 am

    Actuially, I’m still kind of working on it. I just threw them up there to get them out of the way in those pics. Maybe once I get em all set up the way I like em I’ll post some more pics… Yea that sounds like a good idea.

    Thanks for the compliment bro!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
