Home > Random Thoughts, Rant > Common Sense

Common Sense

June 12, 2006

I’d like to start off today by saying something that may seem like common sense to most people, but obviously not everybody got the memo. So here it is, in writing, to set the record straight, and to clear up any confusion anyone might have about the subject. If you are telling a story and/or making a remark that is meant to be humorous, and on a nearly constant basis you are the only one laughing hysterically at them….THEY’RE NOT FUCKING FUNNY, AND NIETHER ARE YOU!!!

To clarify, everyone has, at one point or another, made a comment or told a joke that they may have thought to be humorous and nobody else thought so. This alone does not make you an idiot, because most people rather consciously or subconsciously, make some sort of a mental note to themselves saying “hay that wasn’t as funny as I thought it was. I feel like an idiot, lets not do that again.”

What makes you an idiot, is when you don’t learn from this experience, and continue to tell it to everyone you know… repeatedly. To me this doesn’t just scream idiot, it screams “shoot me and put me out of your misery!”

In my own defense, I’m really a pretty tolerant person by nature; I just don’t have a very high tolerance for stupidity, and to me, that’s just fucking stupid.

When I think about this particular situation, one or two particular people come to mind, and as much as I want to, I won’t mention their names. Even though every fiber of my being wants to yell “Fuck you _____ and everyone like you!” I won’t.

What I will do is simply ask you, what happened to the common since in America? Even though one or two people stand out in my head when I think about this type of thing, it’s not limited to these couple of individuals. As a whole we as Americans seem to have adopted this type of “stupid” as a life style and I don’t just mean in relation to humor either, this applies to other aspect of life also. Don’t believe me? How many of you know someone that fit’s the description above? How many people do you know that no matter how many times they fuck up, still keep doing the exact same thing over and over again, and even though they know the outcome will be exactly the same each and every time, they think that as long as they are going through the motions that’s all that matters?

When I see individuals like this I feel is a great deal of resentment, people like this for some reason just piss me off, but what I feel the most is pity, because these people will never be anything more that what they already are. These people will go through life never knowing what kind of idiot most people think they are. They go on about their lives never knowing that everyone is laughing at them, rather than laughing with them.

I guess what erks me the most is that these people are so oblivious to their surroundings that they never notice the smirks or snickers that others give them, they think the remarks people make are just meant in jest, and are so self absorbed that it never crosses their minds that people are just being honest, or cruel.

It never occurs to them that the reason that they didn’t get that promotion at work is because they don’t deserve it…. it must be because management has it out for them. It can’t be because they never show up on time or, because they mess up more than they get things right. How many people do you know that actually take responsibly for their actions and make no excuses for them?

American society no longer teaches people to take responsibility for their actions; everyone has an excuse, from murderers to religious figures to the average worker. “My father used to beat me”, “The devil made me do it”, “Something‘s wrong with the equipment”, never do you hear “I made a bad decision, I‘ll do my best not to let it happen again, and accept full responsibility for my actions.”

I know that we are not supposed to worry about superficial things such as, appearance and what others think about us, but where do we draw the line? More importantly, how do we blur that line so much that caring rather something is morale or not, or what our employer thinks of us now falls into the same category as rather people will think this shirt is cool or not?

When did just going through the motions become acceptable? Who sold us on the idea that every thing we do wrong can be blamed on our moms not hugging us enough? When the hell did we become such pussies?

